Board of Directors

Sara Krieger, MHA, RN, BSN, CHPN, has long been committed to the life-affirming principles of palliative and hospice care.  A Certified Hospice and Palliative Care Nurse since 2008, Krieger holds a Bachelor of Science in Nursing, as well as certification in Nonprofit Management from Iowa State University. She completed the University of Iowa Master of Healthcare Administration program, earning her advanced degree in June of 2019.

Krieger has been with Iowa City Hospice (Iowa City’s only community-based nonprofit hospice care provider) since 2005. She currently serves as the organization’s Interim CEO, managing the staff and resources that support hundreds of patients a day over a seven-county service area.

Krieger has extensive experience in developing and guiding strategic initiatives toward positive outcomes. She is known for her proven ability to successfully implement process change across multiple disciplines while maintaining an exceptional commitment to regulatory compliance and a high degree of fiscal responsibility.

Iowa City Hospice Board of Directors

  • Sara Krieger, Board Chair 
    Interim Chief Executive Officer
  • Susan Stutzel, Treasurer
    CPA, Stutzel Accounting
  • Randy McDonough, Secretary
    Pharmacist, Owner, Towncrest Pharmacy, Solon Towncrest, and Towncrest Compounding Pharmacies
  • Kim Erlandson
  • Interim Chief Operations Officer
  • Kara Thoma
    Manager of Psycho-Social Services


Iowa Care Community Board of Directors and Affiliations

  • Cynthia Schrock, Chair
    VP, Branch Manager, MidwestOne
  • Catherine Pugh, Chair-Elect
    Owner/Agent, Urban Acres Real Estate
  • Randy McDonough, Secretary
    Pharmacist, Owner, Towncrest Pharmacy, Solon Towncrest, and Towncrest Compounding Pharmacies
  • Ben Evans, Treasurer
    Group Benefits Advisor, Relion Insurance Solutions
  • Christine Ameling
    Community Representative
  • Steve Anderson
    Attorney, Anderson Houghton Law
  • Nicole Brogden, PharmD, PhD
    Associate Professor, Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences and Experimental Therapeutics, the University of Iowa – College of Pharmacy
  • LaTasha DeLoach, LMSW
    Coordinator, Senior Center, City of Iowa City
  • Jeffrey Jarrett
    Vice President, F&M Savings Bank
  • Diana Lundell, Past Chair 
    Former Director of Communications, UI Health Care
  • Janice Miller
    Faculty , University of Iowa College of Nursing
  • Michelle Nederhoff
    Employee Benefits Specialist, Relion Insurance Solutions
  • Dr. Minyon Rittgers-Easton
  • Physician MRE Family Care Clinic
  • Ben Russell
    Realtor, Urban Acres Real Estate
  • Dr. Stephen Scheckel
    CMO, Mercy Hospital Iowa City
  • Tammy Sebolt
    Nurse Manager, UI Health Care

Comments are closed.

Iowa City Hospice